Key statistics from Whakakaha te Hoataka:
Māori Annual Report 2019

The progress we have made against the Māori Strategic Framework is contained in our reports to our rūnaka partners.


Komiti Kāwanataka

This committee operates within the Memorandum of Understanding established by the Rūnaka of Moeraki, Kāti Huirapa ki Puketeraki, Ōtākou, Hokonui and Otago Polytechnic Council.

It provides a meaningful mechanism for Māori participation in governance and decision making in relation to the Polytechnic’s responsiveness to the Treaty of Waitangi and Kāi Tahu’s education plan. In particular, attention is given to effective communication, developing and monitoring the Polytechnic’s Māori Strategic Framework, and ensuring that Kāi Tahutaka, as practised by Kā Rūnaka, is the basis for all Māori activities within the Polytechnic.

Komiti Kāwanataka Back row: Janine Kapa, Peter Coolbear, Megan Potiki (Chair) Marshall Hoffman. Front row: Hinerangi Ferrall-Heath, Debbie Davie, Chris Morland. Absent: Khyla Russell, David Higgins, Matt Matahaere.



Janine Kapa-Blair

Janine Kapa
Deputy Chief Executive Māori Development/Kaitohutohu

As Kaitohutohu of Otago Polytechnic, Janine is a member of Otago Polytechnic’s Leadership Team, with responsibility for overseeing the incorporation of the principles of Te Tiriti o Waitangi and the Polytechnic’s Memorandum of Understanding with Kā Araiteuru Papatipu rūnaka in day-to-day operations. 

Janine has been passionately involved in Māori education for over 25 years; in the compulsory and tertiary sectors, from the classroom to the board room, both regionally and nationally. With a background also in social research, project management, communications and strategic development, Janine co-founded a bicultural communications consultancy in Wellington in 1999 and from then until 2003 worked in a number of central Government agencies, e.g.: ETSA (now the TEC), the Ministry of Health, Te Puni Kōkiri and NZQA. On returning to Te Waipounamu (the South Island) in 2003, Janine has worked for her iwi as the Ngāi Tahu Education Manager (2003-2005), and more recently, held leadership roles at the University of Otago (2007-2017), firstly as Acting Director then Deputy Director of Māori Development, and more latterly, as the Associate Dean Māori in the Otago Business School.

Janine follows in the footsteps of our previous Kaitohutohu, Professor Khyla Russell. 


Our publications